Friday 28th September saw Westcott CC hold their 2018 season Presentation dinner at the Akeman Inn. following the usual format the presentations followed another superb meal at the home of our main sponsor’s and we must thank The Akeman Inn not only for hosting our Presentation evening but for their sponsorship for the 2018 season. The presentations were opened by Phil (the chairman) Bateman  with a brief review of what has been a successful season with the 1st team surviving in division 1 and the 2nd team winning division 7 north securing promotion and the division win on the last day of the season. Phil then expressed thanks to all the people that helped the club through the year a sentiment also expressed by the other speakers. Phil was followed by Pete (Buz ) Busby who held all the stats for the teams and individuals who were up for the awards maybe a little disappointingly leaving the Captains ( Mark & Lewis) to just hand out the trophy’s when everyone was looking forward to the captain’s take on the season for each team. The Captains did express their thanks to the many players that turned out for the club this season a sentiment echoed by the committee & the club members.

The awards for 2018 were as follows:

Individual medals 

First for club, 5 Wickets or more in an innings:

James Bateman 5-38 vs Hook Norton II’s

Mark Strong 6-32 vs Faringdon

First for club, 50 runs or more in an innings:

Tony Burcham 59 vs Stonesfield.

James Bateman 65* vs Kidlington III’s

Stuart Symes 78 vs Wooton & Boars Hill

First for club, 100 runs or more in an innings:

Alimar Khan 101* vs Oxenford

Rehman Ullah 148 vs Witney Swifts


Paul Tarbox 6 hit Trophy ( most 6’s in season):   Rehman Ullah

E. Saunders  Memorial cup (most man of the matches in season):   Alimar Khan

Goss Cup ( top fielder):   James Bateman

Ivor Fowler Shield ( top young player):  Giles Burkitt

Team awards:

Second team Bowling Award:   Pete Stiles

Second Team Batting Award:    Pete Smith

Second Team Players player of the year:    James Bateman

Barnett Cup ( 1st Team Bowling Award):    Alimar Khan

Barnett Cup (1st team batting Award):     Rehman Ullah

Kettyle Cup  (1st team Players player of the year):    Rehman Ullah

Cliff Searle Memorial Trophy  ( clubman of the year):   Bob Wiles

Once again thank you to all the people who have helped out the club over the season especially the committee who work tirelessly to run and improve the club to make it one of the best places to play your social cricket in the area (in my opinion).